Three Nocturnes (2015): I

for large orchestra (3[picc.].3[e.h.].3[].3[cbsn.] timp+3 hp strings)

Nocturnes (2014-2015) is a set of three symphonic poems based on places I visited the previous summer. As in Debussy’s famous Nocturnes, the music is not meant to be a literal representation of night scenes, but rather an evocation of the feelings I experienced in these environments. I spent June of that summer living in a cozy apartment in Paris. On my first night there, I was awakened in the middle of the night by the sound of hail pinging against the roofs of the apartment buildings around me. I lay awake for over an hour, listening to the various timbres produced as the hail melted into rain and then gradually died away. As I drifted back to sleep, I imagined a city built entirely of glass being ground to pieces by such a storm. My desire to depict this vitreous apocalypse in music led me to compose “The City of Glass.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s