J. S. Bach, Lute Suite BWV1006a

J. S. Bach (1685-1750)
Lute Suite, BWV1006a
I. Prelude
II. Loure
III. Gavotte en rondeaux
IV. Menuetts I & II
V. Bourrée
VI. Gigue
trans. Nathan Cornelius

Nathan Cornelius, guitar

J.S. Bach’s Lute Suite in E major, BWV 1006a, is one of the most brilliant and challenging works in the classical guitar repertoire. The suite is itself a transcription (either by Bach himself or someone in his circle) of the last of his great violin partitas. At the suggestion of Jonathan Leathwood, I have changed the key to D major for this guitar transcription, opening up additional possibilities for lute-like campanella textures and a fresh palette of colors not found in the traditional E-major version.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s